apifare and monid, compared from their own sites
Both apifare and monid give an AI agent many tools behind one balance. This page puts what each company says on its own site side by side, so you can pick the right one for your agent.
| apifare | monid (monid.ai) | |
|---|---|---|
| Tools | “4,900+ tools your agent can run today” | “Monid connects your agent to 1,700 tools & APIs.” |
| Free start | “$5 of calls free (500 credits)” | “Start with $1 in free credit.” |
| How agents connect | MCP (stdio npx -y apifare-mcp or remote /mcp), plain HTTP, or the one-line llms.txt shortcut | “Monid ships a skill, a remote MCP server, and a CLI.” Its docs add an HTTP API. |
| Provider keys | No separate provider account or provider API key for eligible capabilities; you can also vault your own (BYOK), injected server-side and never returned | “Monid holds the keys and brokers calls on your agent’s behalf.” |
| Paying | One prepaid balance; “the listed per-call price is the billed price” | “Pay-per-call… Monid takes 10% on top of the underlying provider price. No subscriptions, no minimums.” |
| Spend controls | Per-agent daily or monthly caps, a kill switch, HTTP 402 with a top-up link, and auto-refill only within owner-set limits | Not stated on its site |
| Failed provider calls | Refunded automatically | “We only charge when the request actually delivers results to your agent. If you think you were charged in error, reach out and we’ll refund it.” |
| Audit trail | A signed, exportable audit chain | Not stated on its site |
| For tool providers | A public providers repo on GitHub | “We route agent traffic to it, meter every call, and share the revenue.” |
Sources: monid.ai (homepage and its FAQ) and monid.ai/docs; for apifare, this site, /capabilities and /terms.
Give this to your agent
set up https://apifare.com/SKILL.md — and it takes it from there: key, config, first call. $5 of calls free.
No agent open right now? Two manual steps: ① get a key (email in, key out) · ② give it to your agent — one config line, every client has a setup guide.
Compiled from each company’s public website on 2026-09-13. Details change; check each site for current terms. monid is a trademark of its owner, named here only to compare.